5 Crowns mentioned in Bible

Crown of Life

The Crown of Life is referred to in James 1:12 & Revelation 2:10; it is bestowed upon “those who persevere under trials.”[4][5] Jesus references this crown when he tells the Church in Smyrna to “not be afraid of what you are about to suffer…Be faithful even to the point of death, and I will give you the crown of life.”[6]

Incorruptible Crown

The Incorruptible Crown is also known as the Imperishable Crown, and is referenced in 1 Corinthians 9:25.[1] This epistle, written by Paul of Tarsus, deems this crown “imperishable” in order “to contrast it with the temporal awards Paul’s contemporaries pursued”.[7] It is therefore given to those individuals who demonstrate “self-denial and perseverance“.[7]

Crown of Righteousness

The Crown of Righteousness is mentioned in 2 Timothy 4:8,[1] and is promised to “those who love and anticipate” the Second Coming of Christ.[8] These Christians desire intimacy with God.[9]

Crown of Glory

The Crown of Glory is discussed in 1 Peter 5:4 and is granted to Christian clergy, who “shepherd the flock in unselfish love being a good example to others”1 Peter 5:2-3 [10][11]

Crown of Exultation

The Crown of Exultation is also known as the Crown of Rejoicing.[1] Delineated in 1 Thessalonians 2:19 and Philippians 4:1, it is given to people who engage in evangelism of those outside the Christian Church.[12] In the New Testament, Paul earns this crown after winning the Thessalonians to faith in Jesus.[13]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.